Your study level

We've preselected "All levels" for you, but you can change your study level at any time by choosing one of the options on this menu. Changing your study level will return you to the beginning of the module.

The goal
a boy smiles at the computer

In 'Understanding Quality of life' we saw that the quality of a child's life affects and is affected by many areas of their well-being, including:

  • Physical well-being
  • Emotional well-being
  • Self-determination (making choices and determining the course of events)
  • Interpersonal relationships
  • Social inclusion
  • Personal development
  • Material well-being
  • Rights and privacy

These areas should not be put in any order of priority and should not necessarily be given equal weight when applied to a particular child. As we shall see later on, one of the fundamental aspects of improving the quality of a child's lies in recognising that every child is different.

Every Child Matters: a comparison
front cover of the government's publication:
                  Every Child Matters

Many schools use the Every Child Matters (DfES 2004) outcomes as way of thinking about children's needs and assessing their well-being.

The five outcomes are:

  • Be healthy
  • Stay safe
  • Enjoy and achieve
  • Make a positive contribution
  • Achieve economic well-being

However, the major focus of Every Child Matters was strategic. The eight areas in the quality of life model offer a more individualistic approach.